Now that I Am Not Okay with This season 1 has released, will Netflix move forward with I Am Not Okay with This season 2? And if so, when will it release and what will it be about? The series is based on the eponymous graphic novel by Charles Forsman, who is also the literary mind behind Netflix’s The End of the F***ing World. Starring Sophia Lillis (IT, Gretel and Hansel) as teenage protagonist Syd Novak, I Am Not Okay with This season 1 premiered on February 25, 2020.

Contrary to most Netflix series, I Am Not Okay with This season 1 consists of only seven episodes, all of which are around 20 to 30 minutes in duration. The storyline follows Syd’s attempts to understand not only her sexuality, but also her telekinetic powers. By the penultimate episode of I Am Not Okay with This season 1, Syd learns critical information about her late father’s past, which sets up a bloody season finale at a Homecoming dance.

The majority of I Am Not Okay with This season 1 on Netflix explores Syd’s bonds with Stan Barber (Wyatt Oleff) and Dina (Sofia Bryant). She’s had intimate moments with both, and secrets are made public when Dina’s ex-boyfriend Brad (Richard Ellis) steals Syd’s diary after cheating with cool girl Jenny Tuffield (Sophia Tatum). Since Netflix’s ending doesn’t match the much darker narrative from the comics, there’s potential for a multi-season run. Here’s everything to expect from I Am Not Okay with This season 2.

I Am Not Okay With This Season 2 Renewal

Netflix hasn’t ordered I Am Not Okay with This season 2, though a renewal seems likely based on initial reactions from critics and subscribers. In June 2019, the streaming service ordered an eight-episode first installment, but ultimately produced just seven episodes. If Netflix keeps the same renewal/cancellation schedule, an official announcement will be made within six weeks after the first installment’s late February 2020 release date. Expect Netflix to greenlight I Am Not Okay with This season 2 sometime in March 2020.

I Am Not Okay With This Season 2 Release Date Info

Assuming that Netflix will move rather quickly with I Am Not Okay with This season 2, new episodes will theoretically be produced later in 2020, with post production wrapping up by the end of the year (or during the early part of 2021). It’s likely that I Am Not Okay with This season 2 will release sometime between February 24-26, 2021.

I Am Not Okay With This Season 2 Story Details

I Am Not Okay with This season 1 on Netflix ends with Syd literally blowing up Brad’s head at the Homecoming dance, and coming face to face with a mysterious man. Syd doesn’t purposely murder her classmate, yet becomes so frustrated by his public diary reveal that her mental powers take over. The original comic features a significantly darker ending, as Syd blows up her own head, and not in the figurative sense.

Syd is currently alive and mostly well in Netflix’s version, seemingly ready to confront both her powers and the past. For I Am Not Okay with This season 2, expect Syd’s father to be part of the storyline somehow because the original graphic novel suggests that Syd played a role in his death. Looking forward, streamers will probably be most interested in the source of Syd’s powers, and what role the mysterious man will play in I Am Not Okay with This season 2 on Netflix.

More: I Am Not Okay With This Soundtrack: Every Song In Season 1